Gentlemen at Arms

What a soggy, soaking wet day!
We were both struggling for blips today and I resorted to having a rake around the garage. I discovered a box which had not been opened for some time and found the remains of my collection of hand painted military miniatures.
As a boy, I discovered plastic construction kits (Airfix, etc.) and my interests spread from aircraft to armoured vehicles to model soldiers. I started buying and painting metal figurines in several scales ranging from 2o mm up to 90 mm in height. I believe that I was fairly good with a size 000 brush but I have seen some real masterpieces which I fully thought might have got off their stands and walked away! These, though, have given me a lot of fun down the years and I will be holding on to them for a good while yet.
For the record they are, from the left, an officer of Hepburns Regiment (1st of Foot, a.k.a. "Pontius Pilate's Bodyguard"), a Pioneer from the Napoleonic wars and a Guards Sergeant from the same era.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.