Growing old disgracefully

By GOD

BEING SEEN

Determined not to be a fair weather cyclist, I invested in some wet weather, high visibility gear and tested it today. It kept me very dry and warm if a wee bit sweaty at times. I doubt very much if anyone would miss my right hand turn signals, even on a dark, dreich, wet morning like this one. Clocked up my first 50 miles on the new bike since taking delivery nine days ago. Nothing to crow about, but I am quietly pleased as I haven't cycled for ten years and thought that the bad back and arthritic joints meant my cycling days were over. I am also benefitting from the new perspective, and I don't just mean seeing over the tops of hedges. Out in the traffic I feel a wee bit stressed, but once on the cycle track I find it gets very contemplative and relaxing.

Busy afternoon preparing to deliver two courses which start on Thursday and also planning an intensive two day course in Mull at the weekend. People are still doing some last minute booking, so there is also a rush of admin.

GOOG THINGS:
Waking up to the VIP cheerfully telling us he is awake and ready to go
Work - when you enjoy it, life doesn't get much better
Car drivers who respect cyclists and give us a wide berth

EXERCISE DIARY:
Cycled to yoga class, did yoga, cycled back! 12 miles

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.