Is It Just Me...

...Or am I missing something ?   Today I went to Jesus College, Cambridge, to see their latest art exhibition., 'Sculpture In The Close.'  In  the centre of the Second Court, on the lawn, was this pile of old chairs. Remains of a wild party maybe, but no, a sculpture by Phyllida Barlow, a highly respected artist, and originally commissioned by the Tate Gallery, London. The extra is a cone-like funnel, resembling a giant megaphone structure, which I couldn't get in the shot. It overlooks the chairs and maybe the idea is that the audience were blown away, as the two installations go together. I had to look up a bit about the artist and began to understand where she is coming from ! She is fascinated by the absurdity of contemporary sculpture and uses any inexpensive materials to hand. So after my initial surprise at seeing the chairs dumped on the lawn, I got the message.( well, more or less) I hope to go back tomorrow and see more, as it is only 10 mins away on the bus.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.