89 TODAY

My lovely Mum is 89 today.

I found this photo on Dad's computer after he died, and he'd also made a copy cropping himself out, which I used on Facebook today. Mum told me tonight that she remembered it being taken when they were about 25 (and only had me). A man had asked whether he could take a portrait of her as an entry for a photographic competition. Apparently Dad wasn't too happy about this and so it turned into a joint portrait. She didn't know how it had done in the competition, and she asked where I'd got the picture from. The original must be in her house somewhere - among the hundreds of photos there - for Dad to have scanned it.

She'd had a good day. Sister R took her out for lunch to her favourite pub and she had some lovely presents. R had also taken her to see 'Dunkirk' last week which brought back lots of childhood memories for her. We're seeing her again in about three weeks, and I hope she's still in as good form as she sounded today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.