Helena Handbasket

By Tivoli

Nineteen Minutes

I have really enjoyed this book! So much so that it gets included in my very short list of 'fiction to keep'. This bookshelf is less than 3 feet long and it was a total epiphany when it finally dawned on me that I don't need to give house-space to every single book I ever owned. Before moving here I had this odd belief that any and every book must be nurtured no matter how far you roam, and so it was that we spent a heap of money shipping out loads of boxes of books, including school maths books, from London to a tiny Greek island where nobody will ever open their covers. Madness!

This book tells a very believable tale and has some superbly well-rounded characters. There is a twist I shall not spoil, which for me, is the icing on the cake to a book I enjoyed right from the start.

But! It has a couple of glaring errors which irritate me intensely. How can an author who had at least another nine novels under her belt when this was published, not have people on her team who will pick up on timeline errors? There is a dead child who relocates from inside to outside a cafeteria between pages 50 and 70 and a dog who time travels back to the year before it was born a bit farther in. It doesn't matter greatly in the grand scheme of things, they are only details, but they are details that the author has chosen to write about and so you might hope that she would pay attention to her own book.

Wouldn't you?


Mushrooms and broad beans included for the purposes of copyright :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.