Dancersend

By Dancersend

Testing, testing

I've been testing the macro capabilities of my new Olympus Tough 5 camera. With my big (actually quite small) Olympus camera back with Olympus for repair and my old compact with its lens permanently stuck, I decided I needed a new back-up compact camera. Trading in some old lenses, that I now never use, provided almost all the funds to get a Tough 5 -  built like a battleship and able to work like a submarine, to 15m underwater, but also with astounding macro performance.

Here you see a handheld shot of the shieldbug Eysarcoris venustissimus, just 6mm long, on a sprig of lavendar that was swaying in the wind. The extra shot is of the cup-shaped gemma receptacles of the liverwort Marchantia polymorpha subsp. ruderalis in low-light conditions. With the addition of either the LED ring-light (on order!) or ring flash diffuser accessories, I'm expecting great things. Now no longer fretting about the return of my other camera!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.