Angus and the 'Nancy.'

    I first came across 'Angus' in the depths of last winter. He is an elderly man with a lilting Hebridean accent and a wee white Scottie dog. I passed him many times in an around the marina, usually with 'Charlie.' We blether each time we meet up. 'Charlie' and 'Angus' have lived on this tiny boat for the past two years. 'Angus' told me they plan to sail for the west coast, where he has another boat. He never seemed to have been in a hurry. But, today as I walked through the marina, there was no 'Nancy.' In a flap I went into the office where the receptionist said she would try and find out what had happened. Had 'Angus' really gone? I knew a day like this might arrive, but it had taken me by surprise.
      I walked back to the mooring to blip a picture called' Absence of Angus.' There to my surprise was the 'Nancy' being pulled and pushed back into her berth by boatyard staff. Seemingly she has been fitted with a new engine, but it had not connected properly to the propeller. One man and his dog will be sleeping in their boat tonight. In a way, I am relieved. I will be in pieces when they go.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.