Forever Changes

This is all time favourite record.  Recently I bought it as a box set. Though it dates from 1967, I only found out about it, around 1974, when I saw a version of the band, Love, play in Dundee. The record has grown on me since then, and now I really appreciate its incredible depth. Often on hearing certain sections, I well up at the sheer beauty of it. I want it played at my wake; not just once, but again and again.

 David Angel, the lovely man who did the orchestrations, which were integral to the record said, of Love’s main man, Arthur Lee:

 ‘Arthur, for me, was like a symphony composer; there’s an idea, and it had to live. It didn’t have to be pretty; it just had to live....... I never heard anything like this group and that album.

 https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_X3HKEC68EM&list=RD_X3HKEC68EM&start_radio=1

To be fair, this song was written by Arthur’s band mate, Brian McLean, but the Lee/Angel arrangement epitomises everything about Forever Changes.  I go weak at the knees, every time I hear that trumpet.

Extra: The Mac on vinyl for MH

 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.