Everyday I Write The Book

By Eyecatching

The Spice of Life

This is the shelf unit we bought in Brighton on Sunday, fully stocked with herbs and spices and other delights.

Since going vegan we're eating better than ever. Don't let them sell you any crap about a plant based diet. It is interesting, tasty, diverse and fun. You have to shop and stock and you have to look and cook. Recipes are out there and the world wide web was just made for the vegan who likes to experiment. And you can still have good old fashioned beans on toast or a chip butty.

Today was a case in point. I had my fruit and oat pot with yoghurt and a toasted panini with smoked 'meat', 'cheese', vegan pesto and olives. For supper we had vegan steaks that we ordered online which are really nice, with jacket potatoes, courgettes cooked on the griddle, and a home made spice cauliflower and chick pea sauce. 

And I confess to scoffing some excellent vegan chocolate. 

I know I have become an evangelist. And it is true it has given me a new focus and purpose in life. After three months I just wish I had done it before. I feel good about food and I love not having that deep down bloated feeling that dairy used to give me.

They say variety is the spice of life, but in my case less is most definitely more...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.