Me Time

I got back from Auckland late last night, and relaxed ...The rest of the family are away until Thursday so the house was in a state of peace.

Weirdly, I woke up early, so I sat down with a cup of tea and started 3 days of "me time". I started spilling my thoughts from several weeks away, writing lists and planning. If you have kids, or any sort of commitment (and most of us do) you'll know that there is almost no time available only for "me". Add to that owning a business and "me time" is virtually non-existent. Your entire waking life is spent fulfilling needs of either the family, or work. And that is completely OK, because they were choices we made, but every so often it's great to simply focus on one thing and one person. Me.

I love "me time", I can do whatever I want. I arrived at work late, I went out with a friend for lunch, I had peanuts and beer for dinner. I enjoyed a glass of wine and watched the sunset. I am currently tidying my office and sorting out several years worth of old computer gear, cables, software, photo equipment; all of which is cluttering my space and mind. I might finish soon and watch some sci-fi.

The remainder of the week I will probably work short days and do some thinking, in the peace and quiet of home.

Being on holiday gives you some perspective, and it's important to record that, and plan, and make decisions with a fresh mind. Before it is too late, and before "me time" becomes "our time".

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.