Holiday Reading

Really very sad to hear about the terrorist incident in Barca this afternoon. I know Barcelona very well having been there on a hen night/ weekend and not being too keen on it and then allowing a friend from primary school to persuade me to revisit and re-experience what this great city has to offer. I've been about four times since and am due to go again very shortly for a few days on my own initially and then meeting up with my friend.

It's a vibrant city with so much to see and do. There are several beaches, all with their own personality and I just love swimming in the sea, sunbathing and eating tapas. I feel lucky to have given Barcelona a second chance and like Venice, which I wasn't keen on during my first visit, it is now one of my favourite cities to escape to.

The terrorist incident took place in one of the most crowded areas, there is always a good police presence in the area and my understanding is that measures were put in place to reduce traffic flow in this area, mindful of such an event possibly happening.

Las Ramblas is one of my least favourite places in Barcelona because of the crowds but I understand why people like the vibe and buzzing atmosphere.

I had a great chat with my Mum and dad today by phone- I was in the phone for two hours to them. I had a good chat to someone else too and had some really interesting insights , was given some brutal advice and actually cried which in some ways was a good thing. This all dovetails nicely with my holiday reading, Jung, I'm on a journey of self- discovery. I like the mirror effect cover on this book, very clever for a book on reflection. Slightly worried that on reviewing the blip I think I can see Donald Trump's half- head attached to mine! I can assure you I'm nothing like him!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.