The Kiwis have landed!

A most exciting day today in more ways than one.  FINALLY we have been able to convince Rainie and her wonderfully hubby Doug to visit us in the Blue Mountains.  Just wish I had heard the phone ring to tell me they were on the 9.18 train from Central.  By about 11.30 I was starting to think that there plane may have been diverted to Perth or somewhere far far away.  I was even trying to download apps on my phone that tracked flights from New Zealand!!  Imagine my surprise when I received a phone call from Rainie asking me where I was.  They had arrived at Blackheath and were waiting on the station.  I think I did my PB driving into town to meet them.  
All was forgiven, although I'm sorry Trisharooni missed her shot of them alighting from the train.  Sorry Trish :-(.  

We have had a very relaxing afternoon at Wombat Hollow and it's been great to catch up.  Mid afternoon we decided to walk out to Wombat Rock.  I have been so looking forward to taking one of the best landscape photographers on the planet out to the rock and I wasn't disappointed.  I think we'll be trying to sneak back out that way again in the next couple of days but this time with the macro lens on board.  I'm very excited to see what Rainie can do with a Banksia Flower.   Here's a link to Rainie's great take on Wombat Rock!

We've had a lot of laughs today and that has to be a good thing.  It might be a different story tomorrow night when we sit down to watch the Kiwis play Australia in the first round of the Bledisloe Cup.  CCN and I will be at a distinct disadvantage as we know very little about Rugby!!

We have a full day lined up tomorrow with the Blackheath Blippers and I know we will all enjoy helping Rainie celebrate her 70th birthday in style.
It's days like today that just reinforce how wonderful blipfoto is and I said to Rainie this afternoon, if everyone in the world was a Blipper we probably wouldn't have any conflict.

PS - I was going to have a "Masterclass" from Rainie on my image tonight but my friend has crashed.  Can't really complain as their day started at 1.15am this morning.  We decided that I will reload the image when I've had my lesson.  Woohoo!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.