ISB

The main event - a fabulous event it was too. Rarely have I enjoyed myself so much. The music of the Incredible String Band at the Playhouse. No cameras allowed but here are some of the artists involved taking a bow at the end of the final number  - A very Cellular Song.
From left, Rose Simpson (who only appeared for the curtain call), Karine Polwart (a stunning take on October Song), Withered Hand (yes - he did the Hedgehog song - and Can’t Keep me Here), Alasdair Roberts (My Name is Death - not easy), Mike’s daughter Georgia Seddon, Janis Kelly (operatic and dreadful), Mike Heron himself, Barbara Dickson who was really excellent, Sam Lee who brought a great deal of the String Band’s style to the stage, and Robyn Hitchcock who was one of the two main front men (the other being Scritti Politti’s Green). And there was also Danny Thompson on bass and Ewan MacColl’s son Neill. When they did ‘I was a Young Man…’ I could have cried with joy. I may well have done. Afterwards (and beforehand) there was chat aplenty in the Barony with MrT and his brer, as well as R&E and old StA pal Nick and missus Marianne and wean, Charlie. They get real names.
Earlier in the day, which was sunny and warm, I got out for a sail - quite a good blow so a spank around Wardie Bay. There’s a bit too much water in that there bilge though. I’ll need to keep an eye on it….

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.