Another Brick ...

Drips from every strand of my hair just cascaded down in a wall of water but I was happy in that I'd achieved my mission! Rare and lovely!

I saw the wall of dense charcoal/black grey cloud coming in my direction far too late and I just knew it was meant for me. Up against the wall as I'd no mac with me and forty minutes - at a pace - was the distance back to the carpark. It had been a steep climb up - turning every corner hoping that that would be it but no ....... so I knew that was the end of the camera work as it was a long way down. Stonewalled in fact :) 

Basking here with open wings it looks conspicuous but not with the surrounding vegetation. The underside blends beautifully with the bare ground which it habitually sits on. The decline of this species may be down to climatic or environmental changes but the numbers  are dropping considerably. The Writing is on the wall I'm afraid.

The decline of the Wall butterfly has been apparent even to me (I'd never seen one) as following pamphlets and books have been tracking it down  most days recently without success. A drive of an hour and thirty-five was in the hope of turning one up. Gloucestershire seems bereft, so headed to Wenlock Ridge in Shropshire to see if their book on the subject was on the ball. Gusts and sun, clouds and then rain ... followed by hail just poured no hammered down so this was very fortuitous to see beforehand! Right place at right time scenario! Which makes a change! Oh yes! However the rocks, sliding, water and distance were something I hadn't reckoned with. Glad walls don't have ears! 

Posing Walls as Extras - not that they posed too much  .....

Another 'Brick in the Wall' for my butterfly collection.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.