Goose Hop

I had just opened the flaps on the huge White Hide at Amwell Nature Reserve when my phone rang. No worries about answering as I had the hide to myself. While I was speaking I thought I caught sight of a rabbit hopping. It was not a rabbit but a greylag goose hobbling with a damaged leg. It hauled itself to the water and went for a swim and I took this pic as it returned to the relative safety of cover on the island made up of purple loosetrife, common fleabane, water mint and reeds. It's very vulnerable with that injury, I worry for it. :(

Today's poem is I will make you brooches and toys by Robert Louis Stevenson. http://www.scottishpoetrylibrary.org.uk/poetry/poems/i-will-make-you-brooches-and-toys-your-delight

Jewelery doesn't do it for me but the thought of brooches made of bird-song and star-shine does. :)   

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.