Happy Pigs

The people who live and work at Parndon Mill have a pair of pigs fattening in the field next to the river. When I arrived they were fast asleep, cuddled together under a bush. Naughty me, I grunted and woke them up. They ran straight to their trough thinking that I had brought food. I picked some lovely fresh grass and fed them with that. What lovely animals they are. Their vocalisations are so endearing. I remember riding the pigs at the farm on top of the hill as a child. Their backs were bristly and scaly. These two were pinkly embraceable.

Today's poem is Full Moon and Little Frieda by Ted Hughes. https://allpoetry.com/Full-Moon-and-Little-Frieda

I love this. I can picture the cows going home and hear the dog barking and bucket clanking. I wonder if this was written before or after Little Frieda's mother took her own life? 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.