Dragon On The Wing

I intended to walk around Seventy Acres Lake this afternoon and ducked into the Norman's Pond area first to check for dragons. I was hunting when a man with his camera on a tripod arrived. I'd met him a few times before, most recently in Longlands hide earlier this year when I let him try my 100mm macro lens. He's got into macro. We spent quite a while chatting but didn't see hardly anything on the wing so he left.

I moved to the adjacent pool and was delighted to spot a hawker, possibly migrant or common. I got carried away trying to capture it in flight and posponed my walk around the lake.

Today's poem is startled into life like fire by Charles Buckowski. https://hellopoetry.com/poem/9492/startled-into-life-like-fire/

CB was introduced to alcohol in his early teens by a friend. The self-confessed barfly said, "This [alcohol] is going to help me for a very long time." He was dubbed the "laureate of American lowlife." An animal lover, in later life he kept lots of stray cats. The 'electric tail' is spot on. I'm puzzled by 'final as a plum tree.' Being a dog person I prefer this:
dog
a single dog
walking alone on a hot sidewalk of
summer
appears to have the power
of ten thousand gods.
 
why is this?  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.