Arachne

By Arachne

Some old wedding

What a grey day. This was just about all the colour I saw.

For anyone who remembers the mysterious half journey I mentioned a while ago - I am going to visit my sister who lives in Greece (on Mamma Mia island) but had not organised the trip back.

Tenuous link - do you remember the chapel on the rocky outcrop where the wedding was held? It's real and I too have skipped up those steps. Like Meryl I stopped part way up, though in my case it was to get my breath back rather than to belt out another Abba number.

Anyway, I'm burning too much carbon to get there and was trying to arrange to come back by train. But it takes too long, is too expensive and is complicated to organise, so after all I shall burn too much carbon coming back too.

In the process of trying to sort it out I discovered that Greece's desperate public economy has led to many main and branch lines being closed and the cancellation of all Greece's international trains from January 2011. So forget the euro - Greece is already not completely part of Europe... At least for anyone who thinks trains should cost less than planes.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.