Nunc est bibendum

This morning I finally managed to catch up on my Blip journal and for the first time in probably 5 months thought I would be able to post my entry on the same date as the photo was taken.

Even got a great boost when the WhatsApps came through from Ireland and England that the flights for a further visit this year from grandchildren and children have been booked. And all 6 of them will also be flying together on one flight, with one entire row of seats next to one another. That should be fun.

Having had my prayers answered, I jumped for joy and promptly over 50 kidney stones were ejected in the following two hours - and that isn't a joke. Luckily none big enough to cause any problems. In fact the problems are in the passage from the kidneys to the bladder and while I had felt a tiny bit of discomfort the day or two before, it was not even nuisance worthy.

In the evening, noticed we were running out of a few essentials - no sugar, butter or milk and no beer! Well, no alcohol free beer which is what I drink most of the time. So off to Ottobeuren for a quick shop in the supermarket.

While there it struck me that the local  beer from the Allgäu region and very much part of the increasing homeland "cult" amongst the young,  Büble Bier, is one of the few brands that doesn't claim religious or royal patronage. So I walked amongst the rows and photographed those I could see with a religious marketing theme and only those from Bavaria
Franziskaner: Franciscan monks Munich 1363
Paulaner: Minim Friars Munich 1634
Kartäuser; Carthusians, Memmingen  Medieval?
Augustiner: Augustianian Munich 1328
Andechs: Benedictine Andechs (nr. Munich) 1455
Weltenburger:Benedictine nr Regensburg 1050
Mönchshof: Cistercian Kulmbach 1349
Scheyern: Scheyern (north of Munich) 1119

And remember these are only the brands stocked in one supermarket which have a obvious religious logo or name. They also stock brands like Weihenstephan which has its origins in a Benedictine monastery.

Back home I celebrated the news from the Isles with a non-alcohol free Franziskaner and sat down to watch a bit of TV The news and unfolding events in Barcelona were to end any joy for the day and certainly any thoughts of getting my journal posted by midnight.

More barbaric acts by 'beings' that one can cannot describe.

My morning prayers were answered, my evening doubts about the role of religion further put in to question..

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.