Apples and Oranges

By Anitsirk

Terror attacks in three countries just in a couple of days... and, a shooting with one casualty and two wounded just a couple of streets away from where I live... This crazy world we live in...
I try to see joy in the little things, especially now... and I got a real surprise when I went out to pick spinach and sallat just now. My hydrangea is growing like crazy and has developed a new stem, since the old one got a disease of some kind. And, not only that, it is showing a flower bulb! My heart just leaped with joy! This wonderful plant has been on the brink of not making it 2 times now, and it has regrown leaves on two occasions. This spring I replanted it in a larger pot and with the kind of soil it likes. It's been outside for almost the whole summer and it's thriving! :) My tomato plants all have a lot of flowers, too, but I've no idea if there will be time for them to actually produce tomatoes. I picked the spinach and sallat and also some scrawny fennel stems. The fennel smells lovely! I'll have it with salmon, in a soon to be baked pita bread, with sallat for dinner. :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.