Brrrrrr!

This hairless pusscat in the window of the Maison du Chat café on the West Bow was lucky to be inside in the warmth rather than outside with the passers by who shivered in a stiff wind and a temperature which my trusty I-phone told me felt like 12°.
I certainly could not quibble with that, there was more than a touch of October in the air when His Lordship and I passed through the Grassmarket as the stalls were being set up for a Saturday Festival market.

Most of the stalls featured second hand goods, the like of which feature at the back of most people's cupboards, but there was a very healthy vegetable stall which I blipped as an extra and another with delicious breads and pastries. It was hard to resist a dark brown rye loaf which found its way into my bag in exchange for 2 shekels. Later, that in turn required the purchase of some Brie to eat with it.
Somehow cold summer salads don't cut the mustard when the hairs on one's arms are standing to attention amidst the goose bumps.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.