Barefoot running

I think mentioned on here recently the book 'Born To Run', which explains why more expensive - i.e. usually more padded - shoes are more likely to give you an injury. (The issue being that the sensors in your feet are 'muted', so you don't use your ankles, knees, and hips correctly.) There are actually shoes that have pretty much zero padding, although I believe it takes a while to adapt to them.

My colleague, Ronnie, has a pair and he says that the first time he ran a few miles in them, he had loads of aches and pains the next day: not from injury but because the shoes make you run differently. 

I do need some new running shoes but I can't go straight to barefoot shoes because I need to maintain some mileage and I haven't got time to adapt. However, Ronnie has kindly lent me these so I can try them out at the weekend. Today I put them on for a brief jog up and down the car park at work - maybe a couple of hundred yards in total - and they felt fine. 

****
-11.1 kgs
0 words

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.