Edinburgh/David Callaghan

It's got to the point where I wouldn't miss the Edinburgh Fringe mostly because I wouldn't want to miss David Callaghan's show. Of course, there are other reasons to visit (see below) but I love coming up to see what David's done and also what shows he recommends. 

This year, he's managed to (brilliantly) base a whole show around the fact that an episode of Taggart was once filmed at the house where his mother lives. Not that that doesn't preclude Nazis trapped at the bottom of the ocean and lisping alt-righters. Guys, if you're in Edinburgh, would recommend.

As it happens, we had an early start to get up in time to see David's show and that, in combination with some pre-, during-, and post-gig drinks, meant that - following a quick lunch at Valvona and Crolla - we were more than ready for an afternoon nap.

After which, we were raring to go for the evening. Some fizz and (amazing) canapés at Shelagh's before the three of us went on to meet Andrea and Simon for drinks. You know, sometimes when I'm going out to meet people, I have this irrational anxiety about 'what will we talk about?', even with people I know well (and have been out with before or quite regularly), but this evening just flew by and before I knew it, it was midnight and we were being tossed out of the pub.

It's sad but true that Twitter is not that place it once was, but it's not beyond redemption and I wouldn't know David, Andrea, Shelagh, Simon, or, indeed, the Minx, if it didn't exist, so despite its many faults these days, I'm going to raise my glass to it!

****
-9.7 kgs (courtesy of the wedding and The Electric!)
0 words

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.