Birthday

It's my mum's birthday later this month but she and my dad will be on a boat in Russia, so they came down to visit us in Kent, today, to have a little celebration before they leave.

Our plan for the afternoon was to visit the vineyard at Biddenden although Abi and the miniMinx opted out of this trip. The rest of us met Mum and Dad at The Bull in Rolvenden for a drink before we set off through the Kent lanes. 

The vineyard is beautiful and it's a nice twenty minute walk to go around the fields. Even more than the beach, yesterday, which was clearly a holiday location, the vineyards brought home to me that we weren't in Cumbria anymore. I don't suppose it's a big surprise that there's going to be something about the countryside that has had a lot of sunshine that will be very different from our rather more rainy home.

We made a trip to the vineyard shop afterwards to buy a couple of bottles of British sparkling wine to celebrate Mum's forthcoming birthday and headed back to the camp to drink it. There's something about the phrase 'sparkling wine' that really puts me off but, in fact, it was delicious.

In the evening, we opted to go back to The Bull for dinner. I took a lot of photos today but this was my favourite: we were all dressed for dinner (apart from me and Dan, I have to say) and it was wonderful to see everyone looking so lovely, walking through the cornfield. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.