'A Boy Named Cash'

The first show I saw David Callaghan (see yesterday and posts passim) perform was alongside Amy Gledhill. I remember that on that occasion I got up to play the part of Adam in her show. Since then, we've seen that show again plus her performing as part of The Delightful Sausage in Manchester. 

This year, The Delightful Sausage were performing a show called 'Cold, Hard Cache' at the Fringe and the Minx and I went along to see it, this afternoon. It was very good - would recommend etc - and there were plenty of straightforward laughs; at the Fringe there's always that worry that you'll stray too close to the no man's land where comedy meets performance art. 

After that we had a few drinks in the beer garden at the Pear Tree with David, which was fun and a lot sunnier than one has any right to expect of Edinburgh, even in August. After that we went to see David's friend Richard Brown perform his show, which was good although, having seen him before, I feel he is teetering on the brink of brilliance but not quite there: he needs a theme, I think, something to focus on and be passionate about.

But, as I kept my opinion to myself, Richard joined us for a drink afterwards, which was very enjoyable. At some point, I decided to pop out and ring Dan and Abi, and, as I did so, I saw I guy just over the square playing Johnny Cash songs and playing them very well. Consequently, when I'd finished the call, I went to sit and watch him play to the end of his set, at which point he announced that he was playing a show called 'A Boy Named Cash'.

Now, I love a surprise at the Festival and, having seen David, Amy, and Richard before, I was worried that I wouldn't get one this year but suddenly this dropped into my lap. So I went and grabbed the Minx and we went into see the show. It was *very* good. I mean, the guy was talented, playing and singing incredibly well in the style of Johnny Cash, and also engaging and funny. It was a wonderful, out of the blue treat.

After that, and becoming a little worse for wear, we decided to head for the hotel, stopping en route for an amazing curry at the top of Leith Walk. (I'm thinking that perhaps we should come back with the kids, next year.)

****
No scales
0 words

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.