If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

Crane fly.

Saturday so it was prepping at the Lodge.  During the morning it was showery but when it was raining it was heavy!  One of the jobs that clearly needed doing was the cleaning of the glass patio doors (I suppose I should call them Veranda doors but it just doesn't sound right).

Near the bottom of one was a resting Daddy Longlegs.  Having no idea what I would blip I decided on taking a few shots.  Focusing on an insect on glass isn't easy (well not for me).  I had to resort to manual focus and eventually got some shots of the underside.

When I went out to do the outside there it was still sitting resting.   Son I got the chance of more normal shots from the back.  Still difficult and not the best but it is what I am using.  

The common Crane fly and the Marsh Crane fly are classed as agricultural pests owing to the fact the larvae feed on plant roots severely damaging the crop.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.