AliV

By AliV

Gruffalo

"a mouse took a walk through the deep dark wood, a fox saw the mouse and the mouse looked good..."

The Gruffalo is a modern day classic. The book has something about it that just captures imagination straight away. The gentle mouse becoming so brave! And the lovely lyrical words which lend themselves to great character voices by whoever reads it. The TV adaptation just brings it all to life even more. A slight deviation from the book but the music and gentle speed make it magical. I remember watching it one Christmas morning before I had the wee one, and before I really knew what it was. I was memorised, and watching it made me a bit late for my Christmas dinner! 

Tonight me and little one cooried up and although we had watched it before in part, tonight she lasted the whole way through, and didn't move an inch (apart from a bit of a startle when the Gruffalo stomped his feet). When he spoke, she turned to me and said with wonder "Listen mummy! The Gruffalo speaks!!". The wonder of a book coming to life. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.