Chasing Spiders

I read somewhere that one is never more than three feet from a spider no matter where one is. Mind you, I don't mind spiders and I find some of their webs both pretty and ingenious, though hellishly difficult to photograph. But I really would be most grateful if they would restrict their web building , bug catching activities to the great outdoors. There are so many better locations for web attachment and bug attracting out there than in every imaginable nook and cranny of my house. 

I spent the day chasing spider webs with mop, damp cloth, 'webmaster' (a sort of plastic feather duster on a long handle) and vacuum cleaner. I find spider webs quite creepy when they are stretched across the hall, or fill the space between the books and the top of the bookshelf and attach themselves to my hand when I reach for a book. They were under chairs, behind the television on the walls and in the corners. They attract more dog hair than bugs. I'm certainly not a meticulous housekeeper, but I'm not slovenly either! It took me all day, but I think I have rid the house of the majority of the spiders and their webs. The one in the photo was granted a stay of execution and ushered outside because it eats mosquitos.

They will all be back in about three days....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.