Flower Friday : : Emerging Sunflower

My Pilates class came very early at 8am today and involved balancing various body parts on a small "squishy ball" whilst moving other body parts. Not a sterling success, especially since sometimes the body part in question was my healing shin. My reward was meeting Matt and OilMan at Flying Goat so Matt could try the much vaunted Aztek Mocha.

Well fortified with chocolate and coffee we headed to Geyserville and one of our favorite restaurants called Diavola. The last time we were there there was a sign in the window that led us to believe that it was changing ownership, so our mission was, in part, exploratory. We were pleasantly surprised to find that nothing had changed. The owner, Dino, makes his own sausages and cured meats, so we bought some to put in the homemade tomato sauce for pasta tomorrow.

A few days ago we got a handwritten note from the marketing guy at Geyser Peak winery saying that we needed to buy some wine in order to remain members in their wine club. Our email changed and he didn't seem to have our phone number so he had to resort to a handwritten note. That alone was enough to make us feel rather special and go by after lunch to taste their new sparkling rosé.

I think the woman at the wine bar was bored and enjoyed talking with people. Born and raised in Geyserville (a tiny one horse town north of Healdsburg, which used to be a one horse town and has transformed itself into a wing tourism destination) she gave us lots of history of restaurants and wineries in the area, while pouring us everything from Sauvignon Blanc to Cabernet Sauvignon.

When I got home I was definitely ready for a nap, but instead I prowled around the garden looking for flowers with an angle. I'm not sure my picture qualifies, but I liked the way the petals emerged from the bud. I put a picture of a fully emerged sunflower in the extras….

Thanks to Biker Bear for carrying on this challenge singlehanded. It's a pleasant way to end the week.

I

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.