Of Trimming One’s Bush

Yesterday (Friday) I had a bush and tree trimming session in our garden.  When I attacked the bush in our front drive I filled a bulk bag (the white one) and revealed our six foot fatsia, which was only three foot when we last saw it.
 
The result of the bush trimming was not good because the top was still about eight feet high and the sides straggly as it had grown out so far, so phase two, today (Silly Saturday), was to cut it right back including weeding out the shoots in the gravel with a pickaxe. A dose of ‘path clear’ is called for!
 
This resulted in an extra four bags of cuttings to go to the tip.  There would have been another bag but for the use of our shredder but the green wheely-bin is now full.
 
The hedge was out from the fence as far as the green wheely bin in the photo, and back as far as this side of the fatsia (and taller than the fatsia).
 
The only redeeming part of the day was my trip to the tip was the best yet – normally we have to queue for half an hour, but I was virtually straight through with a nice little man unloading my trailer by the time I had got out of the driving seat.
 
Thanks to Admirer for hosting Silly Saturday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.