arla

By arla

A day at the races?

My friend Bill asked if I wanted to go to the Northlands Derby ... I had never been to "the races" anywhere ever before.  We started at the MacDonald hotel patio which was also just gorgeous and I had never been there before either.  Then headed by LRT to the Racetrack.  What a different world is all I can say ... people had been there since noon in their fancy Derby gear including fascinators ... placing bets, drinking cocktails, eating hotdogs... For me the experience was about the horses mostly - but the culture there surprised me. I am not sure I would rush back? But maybe?  My friend was well aquainted with the racetrack via his Dad so he knew his way around betting... It was fun in a new experience kind of way.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.