Paladian

By Paladian

Dangerous job, this blipping

This is a common brown paper wasp (Polistes humilis) and I was quite happy to keep blipping away, until I read that it gets aggressive when disturbed and can inflict a very painful sting. I did notice towards the end of the session it was waving its antennae in my direction, so I thought that discretion was the better part of valour, and I quit while I was ahead.

Luckily she's only just started to build this nest, which will have to go, because it's right on our front door. It's bad enough having them up under the eaves.

Unfortunately this image doesn't show the wings clearly, except where they attach to the body but it shows the construction of the nest and its head. It kept smoothing those fleshy antennae over the construction.

I thought it best to keep away from the pointy end.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.