'n Kiekie 'n Dag

By Sanri

Arrived

Things didn't go according to plan. The flight, which was supposed to depart at 19:00 yesterday departed at 9:30 today.

As is usual with airports nobody told us anything and if I wasn't by chance at the right place with the right people at the right time, I would have spent the night in an airport chair. We were booked into a hotel, but nobody knew at what time the flight would leave and the hotel said they would sent a message via the TV in the room or a note under the door, so everybody sat up checking the TV and watching the door. I got an e-mail giving the new departure time as 8:15, but I wasn't sure if I could trust them. In the end I went down to reception at 1:00 and was told they would give us a wake-up call at 5:00 so I could get a few hours sleep.

Because they had to issue new boarding passes and move our luggage from the broken down plane to the one that was flown in from Johannesburg, we only took off at 9:30 and arrived at 21:30.The original plan was for my brother (who lives about 1 and a half - 2 hours away form the airport) to pick me up and we'll go to my mom, who lives 3 hours away in a different direction and to travel the 12 hours to my other brother tomorrow. The conditions of the roads in the Mpumalanga and Vrystaat provinces don't allow for traveling in the dark and I organised with my cousin who lives near'ish to the airport to pick me up and I spent the night at my aunt's. 

F will now pick me up from here tomorrow morning and I'll have to see what happened next.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.