Brian's Garden Journal

By brianfuller75

Monday Catch-Up

Over the last three days I have stirred myself and got out and about on Cliffe Marshes. It is about 8 miles from me and a place I have visited many times over the years, although not so much recently.

As you can see from the panorama at the top it is a wide open space, with expansive views, and home to many birds, including waders and geese. The birds at the bottom (Little Egrets and Mute Swan were at the RSPB Cliffe Pools reserve.

The two highlights, which typically I didn't manage to photograph, were a flock of about 150 starlings which included 1 white (albino) bird, and the star bird, a Spoonbill which was in flight. After someone pointed it out to me, I was able to follow it with my binoculars for about a minute.

At the end of my walks I had aching legs and was, as they say, "cream-crackered".........but it was worth it!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.