that's me up there

At the top of the glass topped building is my office. It sits on the corner with views over both sides of the building. I rarely see it from this side, normally I am looking from the inside out, not the outside in. My perspective, where I stand, determines how I view things. So often we take our perspective, our experience, our opinion and substitute it for fact. The only way to see "this" is from where I am, from my experience, my point of view. Such an approach closes down debate and discussion. Wouldn't it be better to see things from the other person's perspective - not with a view to "being converted" or "being proved wrong" - but rather to have walked in their shoes, even for a short time. Take time to look at things through the eyes of others.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.