Plus ça change...

By SooB

Dog substitute

Even though Piper has never known this fire lit, she has still chosen the 'hearth' as her late night spot to stretch out. I suspect she'll get a fright when it is turned on.

Terrible night's sleep, but I did at least get a lot of Internet research done between 2 and 4 am which, since my neighbours are all asleep, is the fastest internet we get.

Mr B took the kids canoeing, while I stayed home and got on with stuff (my shoulder and level of exhaustion were not up to an afternoon of effort in the burning sun). Turns out TallGirl was the only one who returned without an injury. Mr B somehow managed to get Hillend Thumb* from a canoe, and CarbBoy (who refused suncream) has burnt his limbs so badly that I'm astonished he's not weeping with pain. TallGirl had to paddle the two-man canoe single-handed, so has slightly sore shoulders.

Later, lots of chat about Hong Kong and the diet in Mongolia. And the correct ironmongery for pergolas. Now Battlestar Galactica and, earplugs willing, sleep.

*He says it is subtly different from that. Still just looks horribly bruised to me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.