Eclipse Madness

Today there was a total eclipse of the sun that went across the U.S. from the Pacific Northwest to South Carolina.  We were not in the area of totality but I still felt the need to watch it and shoot it. Armed with my 18 stop filter and my eclipse glasses, I ultimately decided to do it from the backyard. Just as it neared 81% totality, I went up to our local park, knowing that I might get a shot or two of the spectators.  Unless you are in the totalilty zone, the spectators are far more interesting than the eclipse.  We had no sky darkening or cooler temperatures.  My husband thought the birds got a little noisier, but that was it. 

I have loaded a shot of 81% totality into extras, which didn't look all that different from all the other shots, except that some clouds drifted by. 

Next U.S. total solar eclipse is April 8, 2024 and I have high hopes of seeing it in the totality zone somewhere between Texas and Maine.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.