Two Skippers

My husband and I are starting to plan a 2 month trip to NZ and Australia for Feb and March, and I am starting to fret about camera gear already.  I have been worrying about how I could travel light and still be able to take all the kinds of shots I like to take. I need a camera that will allow me to take macros, shoot wildlife, and do landscapes and people, without having to carry all the various lenses.  Does such a camera exist?  Today I rented the Sony RX10 iii, which is a bridge camera and has a 24-600 mm Zeiss lens.   It has had good reviews and seems like it might be able to meet my needs. I gave it a try today at the Dahlia Gardens. It isn't as customizable as my Sony A7Rii, so I will have to make some compromises, but I don't think those compromises are a deal breaker.  It has in-camera stabilization, and the images are quite sharp in spite of the smaller sensor. I am still getting used to the zoom on this camera, which probably explains why the petals are cut off. Anyway, I will have the camera for 7 days, so I will put it through its paces and see if this will work for me.  I'd say it does well with the macro shots.  What do you think? It's better in large.

With all the eclipse excitement yesterday, and the camera arriving last night, I nearly forgot about Tiny Tuesday.  I am glad to see that many of you did not forget and have tagged your entries for the challenge with TT117.  I will try to get my favorites posted on Thursday.  Thanks to all who are joining in.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.