Rocky Mountain Moments

By pipersmom

Mystery Woodpecker (see update below)

This is Sunday's blip...

Our new friends had to leave today because their 2nd and 6th graders were starting school on Monday.  It was fun to have everyone (last night's dinner group minus our cycling friend) gather at our campsite for a few hours before they took off.  I just loved their kids and was so glad to be able to spend more time with them.  I got a group shot but I'm not sure they want the children on the internet so I'm not posting it.  

A small flock of these birds flew through the campground today.  I know it's some kind of woodpecker/sapsucker but I can't positively identify it.  I'm going to take the picture to the ranger station tomorrow and hopefully they'll be able to help.

Thanks very much to everyone who visited my journal yesterday and sprinkled stars and hearts!  

P.S.  I photographed the whole eclipse today (Monday) and I want to try to build a sort of time lapse on Photoshop.  If I get it done I might go ahead and post it today too so I'm not a day late on the eclipse. ;-)

Update:  I stopped into the ranger station today for help with the ID.  It is a juvenile Williamson's Sapsucker, a new bird for my list. :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.