Exciting Morning

This seagull was excited about something in the ocean when I took this shot.
My neighbors and I were excited to see what a 99% eclipse of the sun would look like this morning starting about 9:05AM. We woke up to fog, thick fog, the sun was not visible at all.....but about 8:55 AM it cleared. There was a cheer of excitement. BUT Hubby and I forgot our special glasses for watching the eclipse at home......so we were going to watch it though a pin hole on a white paper....  we joined our neighbors here at the beach with our viewing box BUT someone had an extra pair of the glasses...AMAZING because they were sold out everywhere.  Hubby and I shared them so we got to experience the eclipse along with everyone else!  Honestly it was more spectacular than I expected; we were able to clearly see the moon slowly move in front of the sun until it was ALMOST covered (99% I was told)......the air became very cool  .....the birds became quiet...the street lights came on ..... we felt in awe of what we were seeing.When the sun began to reappear it became warmer quite quickly and the breeze ceased...... the fog started to roll back in just as the last of the moon moved away from in front of the sun. It wasn't thick; we could still see the last of the eclipse but it was strange that the fog cleared up exactly when necessary for us to watch the  eclipse. We felt blessed......we were grateful.....we experience something most of us will never experience again. I didn't take any photos of the eclipse because I was told it wasn't safe since we didn't have a 100% total eclipse.....so I will share a photo a friend of mine took in extra.   Thanks for liking my hummingbird photo yesterday and sending it to page 2 of Popular!!! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.