Desperately seeking

By clickychick

Looking Heavenward!

Life Before Blip


I was looking at the fabulous eclipse blips taken yesterday and wondering if I actually had any of my own from 1999. Err! No! Let's not discuss my attempts!

The Man had known about this eclipse since he was a boy, he had been determined that he would travel to Cornwall to see it. Little did he know that he would become a teacher so it was a damn good job it fell in school holidays.

So we brought the caravan down and 6 of us had a holiday based around this date. We visited places like St. Ives, Truro, Land's End and the girls had a great time with surfing lessons on Fistral Beach.

I hoped we'd get a meal in Rick Stein's restaurant. No chance!
I hoped Brian May, Queen guitarist and Astrophysicist would be down staying with Roger Taylor so not to miss the event and that we would happen to see them. Fat chance!

Anyhow, the best thing to hope for was to have a great holiday and a clear sky on the day. We did have both. Although it was overcast we got a 5 minute break in the cloud either side of totality.

"I can't see it! I can't see it!" 
"Take the glasses off now, silly!"


Here's Kanyl, Jerra (The Man) katkatkat, me, ArcaneSpark and Alice, special glasses on, drinks at the ready for the big event. No idea who took the shot for us!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.