The Perks........

.....of getting lost down a country road and having to ask for directions....is....you meet guys like this...who I might add was very very friendly.
I took a couple of pics of him just mooching about and as I was just getting into the car WHOOSH he opened his feathers and started to do the most fabulous little dance...strutting/shuffling about whirring and clicking his back feathers (which I find fascinating and just as beautiful as the front...in a different way) and generally posing for me.
The only unfortunate thing is it was a bit dark under the trees.

I decided to crop this. So often it is about the huge display of the beautiful feathers...but for me it was the sweet face of this guy rather than the big and grandiose whooshing feathers .

Peacocks often get a bad rap ...but I often find them humorous and sweet...their cry can be quite alarming until you get used to it....when I lived in India I used to lie in bed listening to them calling out...most likely to each other ......whilst wandering around the park.......or more often than not interrupting my meditation....I was never good at that anyway.


“Remember that the most beautiful things in the world are the most useless; peacocks and lilies for instance.”

- John Steinbeck

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.