I wonder ....

... what will September bring?

I blipped these Sternbergia last year .... on September 19th.  They're four weeks early this year.  The colchicum are similarly ahead of their usual time too.  Many of these Autumn flowering bulbs are triggered into growth not by water but by lower night temperatures.  We've had some unusually cold nights for August this year and it's this that has set things in motion.  I'm finding some of the potted bulbs putting out new roots into bone dry compost as I re-pot them.  Good job I started much earlier this year.

A busy kind of day.  Taking advantage of a very warm, breezy day I managed to get all the bed linen laundered.  Posted packages of bulbs around the world, Jamie and I cycled to the allotment - he's loving the hand cycle and now he's watching Les Mis on DVD with a friend.  Dad gets time off for good behaviour :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.