Postcard from Bishopdale

After a cold start the day was beautiful.. lots of sun and one report said it was 19c.

My cousin and her husban visited us this morning.. our 2rd visitors. It was great catching up with them and my cousin give me the thumbs up .. for our new place. They both said they loved it.

I aksed John if I could join him on his walk this afternoon but he wasn't going out this afternoon until late. He said to walk the long way. It wasn't great as you are walking along main roads with lots of traffic. I didn't find anything to take a photo of and wished I had taken the shorter walk.

In the shot Bottom Right is the park at the back of us. The shot Top Left you can see John in the garden. He wouldn't look up for me to get a shot. You may notice the garden looks a little different with the Conifer gone now in the front part of the garden.

I looked up Bishopdale and found about the history of the area:
The suburb is named after the three Bishop brothers, James (1826–1910), Robert (1827–1909) and William (1829–1903), who bought land in the area in 1858 or 1859 and established pipfruit orchards. Initially, the area was called Bishopsdale, but the second 's' was dropped from the name. Part of Greers Road (the section between Harewood Road and Sawyers Arms Road) was formerly called Bishop's Road. It was renamed in 1948 to avoid confusion with Bishops Road in Papanui and Bishop Street in St Albans.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.