Top of the world

Well not quite, but the top of Fleetwith Pike (2126ft) which is the spot I chose for my August bivvy. I'd driven down to the Lake District straight after work, parked at Honister and walked up. The National Trust run the car park on the pass and the notice said NO OVERNIGHT PARKING PLEASE but the nice young warden at the hostel said that the NT ticket man comes round at 10 and I was going to be back well before then. My original plan was to leave the car for two nights, but we'll see...
As I'm back blipping (no internet access on the top of this hill) I can tell you that I had a reasonable nights sleep, interrupted a few times by drizzly rain on my face. It seems that after 30 years, the seams are not as watertight as they once were. Anyway, I was warm and mostly dry and the view of Buttermere and Crummock Water and surrounding fells was better than you would get at any hotel..

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.