heaf

After my night on top of the hill (the one this sheep is looking at), I packed up and walked back to the car, which hadn't been clamped or towed away. I drove down to Buttermere and had some breakfast by the roadside. Buttermere has always been one of my favourite Lakeland valleys and it's a joy to return here, to relive happy memories and make new ones.

Today's (revised) plan was to walk up Red Pike and along the ridge to Scarth Gap and back to Buttermere along the lakeshore. It was a bit misty up on the tops but sunny in the afternoon. This photo was taken on the summit of High Crag, where I also had phone reception for the first time and let D know that I was still alive :-)

As I mentioned yesterday, there were Herdwick sheep on Fleetwith Pike and there are also some on High Crag. They roam freely on the fell side and the ewes stay in the same small area (known as her heaf). They really are beautiful animals. I saw far more sheep than people up on the tops today - less folk than I could count on the fingers of both hands.

Down by the lake in the afternoon sunshine, however, there were lots of families strolling along the path, some with dogs, and many more enjoying ice cream at Syke Farm, where there is a small herd of Ayrshires.

I went into the Bridge Hotel for some beer and a baguette and by that time the Youth Hostel was open. Nowadays you don't even have to make up your bed, let alone do chores. There was only a top bunk left, so after a lovely hot shower, I climbed up into it and had a rest. I think I shall sleep well tonight!. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.