fellwanderer

Much as I love to be up in the hills, there is also merit in walking in the valleys, with the added benefit of being able to pay proper attention to the scenery instead of where to put your feet! It was raining when I left the Youth Hostel this morning (after a blissful 9 hours of sleep!) so I decided to walk the circuit of Buttermere, which is a lovely walk of just over 5 miles, mostly right by the shoreline of the lake. I took a lot of photos!

Right at the end of the walk, I visited the tiny church of St James where there is a memorial to Alfred Wainwright. For those of you unfamiliar with the name, you can read about him Here.

I have always loved Wainwright's drawings of the Lake District hills, read his books before I visit and carry them with me when I go. Such beautiful draughtsmanship and writing, and such dedication to a task! His ashes were scattered on top of the hill called Haystacks, which can be seen from this window.

Here is a quote from the the end of The Western Fells (Book Seven and intended to be his final guide, although he did go on to write an eighth on the Outlying Fells) :

"The fleeting hour of life of those who love the hills is quickly spent, but the hills are eternal. Always there will be the lonely ridge, the dancing beck, the silent forest; always there will be the exhilaration of the summits. These are for the seeking, and those who seek and find while there is yet time will be blessed both in mind and body."


I couldn't have put it better myself :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.