Climbing Girls

We went to Grey's Court near Henley today and had such a fabulous day!!
I love it there - I think it's my favourite National Trust property!
Gorgeous gardens - all laid out as "rooms" with hidden gates and tunnels between them; a fascinating house - dating from the sixteenth century but left as it was when it was last occupied in the seventies. It has only been occupied by five families in its history and they've all left their mark! There's also an amazing walled kitchen garden, a brick "maze" laid out on the ground, a newt pond, a ha ha, woods and parkland to walk in, fabulous views across the valley to the Parsonage which makes me feel like I'm in Jane Austen novel, ice creams and a wonderful kids adventure playground (closed today for building works but I'm including it in things I love about the place!!) 
See extras for a few more!!
Today we had the added bonus of tree climbing too!! We went because I'd booked the Little Misses on to a Big Tree Climbing event. 
Miss E did it a couple of years ago at Anglesey Abbey near Cambridge but Miss L was too little. She was giddy to be included today!
As usual we were running a bit late and I had visions of us sprinting miles through the woods like we had to at Anglesey Abbey. Which was hideous!!
No such worries today - as we pulled into the carpark we could see the huge oak tree with ropes attached and kids at various heights in it!
We even had time to sit on our picnic blanket with our flask of tea and watch them!
Just like last time Miss E was fantastic at climbing! She went up like a monkey leaving everyone miles behind her and obviously very proud of herself. Miss L found it a bit tougher to get the hang of it but persevered and slowly made her way all the way to the top. Whoop whoop!!!! I was so pleased for her because it looked as if she was going to give up at one point!
Miss E came down and went back up another route. And got to the top again before anyone else had even got up the first time!!
In fact none of the other children - two older boys and a girl - made it to the to of their routes at all so my two were super pleased and proud of themselves. As were Mr K and I. Quietly and under our breath so as not to appear smug, annoying parents!!!!
It was fantastic to watch. The Little Misses are fearless!!
After the hour was up we headed to get ice creams and had a lovely walk round the gardens. We sat on the lawn to eat our picnic and then had a look round the house. I took quite a few photos - which was forbidden - and then was mortified when we went to pick up our bag and Miss E looked at the sign saying Strictly No Photography and admonished me at the top of her voice that I shouldn't have taken photos. The woman getting our bag looked at me as if I'd spray painted the walls and stolen the family silver and said I definitely shouldn't have taken any photos. Sigh!
I had to have words with Miss E about the time and the place for pointing out a bit of rule breaking!
Then it was home to Archie. Both the Little Misses fell asleep on the way home. It was a tiring day!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.