Early light - Waikuku Estuary

An early morning start saw me meeting up with mpp26 and flying, and heading out to the mouth of the Ashley River, at the Waikuku Estuary. Such a treat!

I was intrigued with the dotterels - flying told me that they are the red-banded dotterels, not the NZ dotterels. Her dotterel image is wonderful. The dawn colours were amazing, gently changing from pinks and oranges to apricots. And thankfully it all got warmer. mpp26 & I had frozen hands and it was no wonder, with all the frost on the dunes. I don't know how flying stayed so warm!
I've put an image of the sun rising into Extras.

Some of my camera settings got reset in all the commotion ensuing from this week's lens saga, and I was frustrated that I was trying to reset them while the dawn was arriving! There was one setting in particular that I never worked out, which resulted in the ISO setting for this image. Thankfully Lightroom has done a good job of sorting out most of the 'noise'.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.