Brian's Garden Journal

By brianfuller75

Oak Galls and Llamas

A strange combination I admit. I was in the garden this afternoon enjoying the warm weather and trying to photograph the Dragonflies that have reappeared. I couldn't, of course, as they didn't land. I then went looking on leaves and branches for anything else of interest. We have 3 mature oak trees plus a dozen or more saplings. I found two kinds of Oak Galls which are where the Gall Wasps have laid eggs which deform the acorns into a food source and home for the Wasp larvae. The round ones are called Marble Galls.

I then went to our back fence which is pretty much obscured with bushes. I found a gap and saw that the Llamas, which live in the fields/orchards behind our garden, were quite close and grazing among the Hebridean Sheep which are always there. There were 5 Llamas and about 2 dozen sheep.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.